Governing Council


The Governing Council, which meets four times a year, comprises 18 individuals elected from the membership of the Society.  The term of office is two years for the President, Vice President and Councillors. It is also two years for the Secretary, Treasurer, Editor, Business Editor, PRO and Group Representatives but tends to be longer if the person is willing to continue in the post.

The posts are currently held by:

President Hugh Cawley
Vice President Eugene Griffin
Secretary Tara Ryan
Treasurer Tim O’Regan
Editor Brian Tobin
Business Editor John McLoughlin
Public Relations Officer Gerry Murphy
Technical Councillors Ken Bucke
  Joe Codd
  PJ Fitzpatrick
  Tomas Hanrahan
  Ian Irwin
  Kieran O’Connell
Associate Councillors Richard O’Hanlon
Northern Ireland Representative Colin Reilly
Belfield Representative Edwin Corrigan
AIFC Representative Dermot Houlihan


The day-to-day administration  of the Society is carried out by the Technical Director who is appointed and not an elected member of the Council.

Technical Director                                       Pat O’Sullivan

Past Presidents                                            Society of Irish Foresters – List of Past Presidents



The business of the Society is conducted through a number of Management Boards comprising individuals from the Council and other members, co-opted as required. There are five main boards:

Education and Professional Standards
Membership Services
Public Relations


The boards report to the Council at each of the four Council meetings.