Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership
The Society of Irish Foresters awards Honorary Membership to persons who have rendered notable service to the advancement of forestry, or who may be deemed worthy of such recognition for any other reason consistent with the objectives of the Society. The names of people who have received Honorary Membership are listed below along with year of the award:


Past Honorary Members
1943 AC Forbes
1944 John Crozier
1946 Alice Henry
1950 Michael O’Beirne
1953 JAK Meldrum
1966 Tim O’Donovan
1966 David Stewart
1975 DM Craig
1984 Tom Clear
1984 Sean Mac Bride
1984 OV Mooney
1992 Cecil Kilpatrick
1995 Bill Jack
1995 Myles Cosgrave
1997 Dermot Mangan
1999 Lily Furlong
2006 Niall OCarroll
2008 Mick McCarthy
2008 Tom Briody
2008 Michael McNamara
2008 Denis Hayes
2012 Tomás de Grúinéil
2012 Jack Durand


Current Honorary Members
2012 Seán Campbell
2013 Michael O’Donovan
2013 Gerhardt Gallagher
2013 Fergal Mulloy
2014 Padraic Joyce
2014 John Brady
2015 John J Gardiner
2015 Neil Murray
2017 Ted Farrell
2017 Bill Wright